Limelight Forums

Full Version: Firefighter AMA
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I am kinda hopping onto the trend here...

For those who don't know, I am a volunteer firefighter in a medium-sized suburban town near New York City (less than an hour away).

Have any questions you wanted to ask a firefighter? Go ahead. I'll be here.

Pat

What is it like to be a firefighter?
Do you enjoy your job?
Does it involve lots of physical effort, doesn't that tire you out?
What made you want to become a firefighter?
Before joining staff, ever have to d/c to avoid an RP situation because of a call?
What is the go-to show/sport that the guys watch during down time at the station?
(Oct 24, 2019, 02:54 AM)Orion Wrote: [ -> ]What is it like to be a firefighter?
In a word (or three): Fun but Serious. When someone calls the fire department, they're already having a bad day. Best we can possibly do is show up and make it better.
Do you enjoy your job?
I wouldn't trade it for the world. 
Does it involve lots of physical effort, doesn't that tire you out?
Depends on the call. Your run off the mill activated fire alarm, not really. A 3rd alarm residential structure fire is a different story.
What made you want to become a firefighter?
My dad did it, his dad did it..I guess it was just kinda in my blood as corny as that sounds.
Before joining staff, ever have to d/c to avoid an RP situation because of a call?
"Avoid an RP situation"? Not really. Interrupt one, yes, however everyone was very understanding when I explained to them that I had a fire call and most told me to be safe and go get em brother.
(Oct 24, 2019, 03:15 AM)Dan Wrote: [ -> ]What is the go-to show/sport that the guys watch during down time at the station?